Alpha Scholarship 2018-02-08T20:58:54+00:00


Alpha Phi Alpha prides itself on being a “school for the better making of men”. No population is in more need of enlightenment than African American males. The Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity and the Alpha Beta Lambda Education Foundation works collectively to raise money that supports the educational endeavors of those young men aspiring to pursue higher education. Having supported students since 1998, we strive to seek out those who have demonstrated their potential, letting them know that it is our goal to support them financially and personally. The scholarship is in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000) per semester with the possibility of renewal for up to four years (total of $8,000).

Applications for 2018 Scholarships must be received by:

Monday, April 2, 2018

Please contact your high school counselor or apply online

Apply Here: Academic Scholarship Application

A student will officially be awarded $1,000 each semester upon the student’s enrollment in the 4-year college or university of their choice. A member of the scholarship committee maintains contact with and mentors each student during his college career. In order to be eligible to receive $1,000 each semester (for up to four years), students must meet the following requirements:

  • Maintain a GPA of 3.0 or better

  • Be actively involved in campus/extracurricular activities

  • Submit a brief essay explaining how the scholarship has been beneficial and how they are perpetuating commitment to academic excellence and campus/community service

  • Have the university’s Registrar send confirmation of their enrollment each semester


  • 2016 – Isaiah Cordray – University of Kentucky

  • 2015 – Isaiah Cloud – University of Kentucky

  • 2014 – Marcus Tyler – University of Kentucky

  • 2013 – Landon Love – University of Louisville

  • 2012 – Taylor Robinson – University of Louisville

  • 2011 – Dominique Dishman – University of Louisville

  • 2010 – Dana Smith, Jr. – University of Louisville

  • 2009 – Willard S. Beatty, III – University of Kentucky

  • 2008 – Daniel Moore – University of Kentucky

  • 2007 – William H. French – Wittenberg University

  • 2006 – Stephen Morton – MIT

  • 2004 – Derrick Morton, Anthony Lewis

  • 2003 – Dra’Mon V. Barbary,  Christopher Lawson​

  • 2002 – Aaron W. Stevenson,   Roland Lee IV

  • 2001 – Christopher Phillips

  • 2000 – Donte’ L. Tichenor,  Jarvis Chenault

  • 1999 – Robert A. Jones,  Victor Sarpong

  • 1998 – Christopher Gatewood,   Charles A. Ross

2016 Scholarship Recipient